Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Posted: April 24, 2012 in Healthy Foods
Tags: , , ,

I had some bananas at home that needed to go…super ripe and ready to be mashed up into something.  I’ve been utterly obsessed with Starbucks’ Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake, so I was looking for something that was similar to that…so scouring Pinterest I came up with this website which has tons and tons of delicious looking recipes.  And, she had a recipe for Polka Dot Banana Bread.  So I decided to make it when I got home from work…

Just a couple notes, I used whole wheat flour, and I used the whole two cups.  I was going to try it with gluten free flour, but I didnt have enough.  I had Agave in my cupboard, and as I started pouring it into the measuring cup I ran out.  So, I estimate that I did 1/4 cup of Agave, and 1/4 cup of sugar free maple syrup.  You cant tell though, and it still came out delicious.  This is what it looked like straight out of the oven.  I sent this picture to Chris, and I wish I could have sent the smell with the photo because it was really amazing.

I took it to work, because well, thats what I usually do when I have baked goods that I dont want to eat all by myself.  I only shared with two people, but both of them gave this bread amazing reviews.  I took the other half of it to Chris to have at work.  He tested a little tiny bite, but said it was delicious.  So this bread will get made again.  I’m also going to try to do a rendition of this with pumpkin, because really, who doesnt LOVE pumpkin?

And here my friends, is the recipe for you:

2 cups flour of your choice (I used whole wheat)

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp cinnamon

¾ tsp baking powder

¾ tsp salt

1/3 cup milk of your choice (I used Vanilla Soy, or you can use oil)

1 ½ tsp. vanilla extract

½ cup agave or maple syrup

1 ½ tbsp. lemon juice

1 packet stevia (or another tablespoon of agave)

2 cups mashed banana

1/3 to 2/3 cups chocolate chips (I used 2/3)

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine dry ingredients, and mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients, then mix into dry by hand, don’t over mix.  Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for about 50 minutes.  (Is the top is cooked but the inside is still gooey, put tin foil over top and continue to cook)  After removing from the oven, let cool 10 minutes before slicing.

After the first day, this bread is best stored in the fridge or cut into slices and frozen.

Comments
  1. Chris Boss says:

    AMAZING! way good… make it more please, and share with the world, peace love and happiness would pursue immediately. I had my share, then but that puppy the freezer for later, because i don’t want to ever not have access to this goodness.

    I’m beginning to think this recipe blog is really going to benefit me a lot more then first realized ;)

Leave a Reply

